The Comp Title Challenge // Created by Yours Truly

Hello bloggers! I hope you’ve been having a lovely 2018 so far, and have been eagerly working at your goals! ^_^ I have a something special for you this week…

I’ve created a challenge! πŸ˜€

Happy Joy GIF by SpongeBob SquarePants

If you haven’t read the title, (which you obviously have), it involves comp titles. You may be asking:

What’s a comp title?

Well, wonder no longer, for I have the answer! (If you weren’t wondering, you may proceed XD) A comp (comparison) title is a book that is similar to your story in either content, genre, format, anything of that sort. It’s most often used as a marketing tool to help authors pique the interests of their readers.

For example, you might say ‘my novel could be described as Harry Potter meets Twilight. Ew, that was a bad comparison…But you get the idea.

Here are some tips on coming up with just the right titles for your stories:

  • Think about the genre of your story. Where does your story take place? When does it take place?
  • Probably don’t take the biggest names and throw them together (like I just did up there ^). Nobody wants to read Harry Potter meets Twilight meets The Hunger Games. (Okay, wait a minute, that might be interesting…XD)
  • Don’t worry about describing your story PERFECTLY. If you find something that you think describes it well, then great, but don’t stress it. It’s just a general idea.

ALRIGHT let’s get to the challenge!

My rules (though they’re really more like guidelines):

  • Pick a few (or all!) of your WIPS!
  • Give them some comp titles!
  • Tag a few peoples if you wish!
  • Have fun! πŸ˜‰

Here are a few of my WIPS //

Imprint // Merlin meets Inkheart

Anyone else into Merlin? No? Just me?

are you sure bradley james GIF by BBC

*slithers into dark corner*

 

Dangerous Minds* // Marvel meets Michael Vey

*Previously titled The D

Because SUPERHEROES!! YEAH!! πŸ˜€

The Avengers GIF

Sciamachy // Treasure Island meets The Snow Queen

That…doesn’t really sound terribly exciting, but IT IS. TRUST ME. XD

Johnny Depp GIF

There’s also pirates, if that entices you at all.

Not Found // Inception meets Undertale

UNDERTALE, amiright? No?

boi GIF

Give or Take Your Time* // Six of Crows meets Harry Potter

*Previously titled Wanted For Time

I haven’t actually made my way into the HP fandom (yet?) so the comparison here is that they both have aΒ school for teaching magical gifts.

hogwarts GIF

This book basically defies genres, so I DON’T REALLY KNOW WHAT TO DO HERE. XD

Pickpocket // Sherlock Holmes meets Mary Poppins

Sounds pretty cool, right? Like, imagine if they were the same person. That’s Pickpocket in a nutshell.

mary poppins GIF

The Ink Slinger // Peter Pan meets Greek mythology

NEW IDEA ALERT. This is one of those four new ideas I got this year. I’m working on remodeling my ‘Books’ page, and there’ll be a little bit about it there.

This is where I actually got the idea to create this challenge, because, I don’t know ‘Peter Pan meets Greek mythology’ just sounds really epic to me. I would love to read a book like that. XD

peter pan neverland GIF

Crown of Thorns // The Hobbit meets Edgar Allen Poe

So…This makes it seem like a depressing quest story. XD

Bilbo GIF

^THE AESTHETIC OF THIS NOVEL BASICALLY^

Now, as I said above, you could choose to tag someone, or you could leave an open invitation. I’m going to be lazy and choose the latter. XD So go forth with this challenge! Do it yourself! (I would LOVE to see what you come up with!) Share it with your friends! (I would LOVE to see that they come up with!)

What did you think of my comp titles? Strange? Interesting? Let me know down below! And if you do this challenge, leave me a link to your post/tweet/update in the comments! ^_^

until-next-time-1

24 responses to “The Comp Title Challenge // Created by Yours Truly”

  1. THIS IS SUCH A FUN IDEA!! I love it! The comp titles for Pickpocket, Ink Slinger, and Crown of Thorns (ALL AMAZING TITLES BTW) sound incredibleeee. LIKE I NEED THESE STORIES IN MY LIFE AHHHH

    Anyway. This is just me coming on your blog and screaming in all caps about your stories. Ahem. πŸ˜›

    (Oh, and I also am OBSESSED with the title Sciamachy. That is genius. <3)

    I might have to do this sometime! It looks like so much fun. ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANK YOU SO MUCH!! πŸ˜€ GAH THAT MAKES ME SMILE SO HARD. ^___^ (I have a love/hate relationship with coming up with titles…XD) ACK I HOPE THEY ARE IN YOUR LIFE SOMEDAY. <333

      Please, scream away, I love visitors and all-caps-filled comments. πŸ˜€

      (I just LOOOVE THAT WORD. I thought it fit PERFECTLY with the story I had in mind!)

      Yes!! I would love to see what you come up with!! πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. *applauds tag idea* I love it! And I feel like it’s good practice for those pitches to literary agents. πŸ˜‰ I would definitely read something called Sciamachy–that’s one of my favorite unusual words. Also anything that whispers Peter Pan, I will pounce on!

    Well, I maaaaay have to steal this tag for the weekend, because I am up to my eyeballs in homework and don’t have time for a long, deep post. Thanks for the idea!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Tracey! It is both good fun and good practice! πŸ˜‰ Ooh, yes, I LOVE that word. So mysterious-sounding. πŸ˜€ Peter Pan is the best, basically. <333

      YES please do!! I would LOVE to see your answers! Although, that's too bad you're up to your eyeballs in homework. I hope you make your way out soon. πŸ˜› You're very welcome! ^_^

      Like

  3. Lissa {Classic Girl} Avatar
    Lissa {Classic Girl}

    *Gasps* marlin meets inkheart??! Sign me up! Peter Pan meets green mythology?!? Awesome! The hobbit meets Edgar Allan Poe? What what?
    Those all sound amaaaaaaaazing. Like seriously.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lissa {Classic Girl} Avatar
      Lissa {Classic Girl}

      *Greek mythology haha. Guess that’s what happens when I don’t correct my comment before hitting send.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I knew what you meant! ^_^

        Liked by 1 person

    2. ACK IT MAKES ME SO HAPPY TO HEAR THAT YOU LIKE THESE!! πŸ˜€
      You are the sweetest thing and I’m literally a puddle of happiness right now. XD

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Love this idea!!! I may steal it….

    Are you kidding me?!! Treasure Island meets Snow Queen sounds so cool!!! I’m not sure what it would look like, but I’m down!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! Please do steal it! πŸ˜€

      YAY THANK YOU! πŸ˜€ Basically, it involves hunting for treasure and pirates and an evil shadow king and I kinda love it to pieces. ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I like Merlin!! I haven’t finished it yet, I’ve been watching it off-and-on for years and I’m still only on like season 3. In fact, I just realized I haven’t watched it in a really long time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s soooo good!! Yeah, I haven’t finished it either. I’ve only just started season two. I should really watch some more episodes… πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Abbey Stellingwerff Avatar
    Abbey Stellingwerff

    Inception meets Undertale?? I want to read that! Great idea for a challenge. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Eep, yay!! I thought it sounded cool! πŸ˜‰ Aww, thank you so much!

      Like

  7. Friggin need the Give or Take or time one cause holy heck that looks amazing. Also. The pickpocket one sounds amaaaaazing. 😍😍😍 Also. I think I’m gonna nominate myself for this challenge

    Liked by 1 person

    1. EXCUSE ME WHILE I FREAK OUT. <33333 EEK I'm glad you think soooo! YES. Please do it. I need to see your titles.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Let me know when you’ve written it cause pleaseeeee

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I AM GOING TO DO THIS TAG!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. WHEN WAS THE LAST TIME I’VE COMMENTED ON YOUR BLOG??? It feels like it’s been forever. I AM SO SORRY! I’ve been trying to get caught up on blogs, and YOURS IS NEXT, WHOOO!

    But anyway! This challenge is absolutely AMAZING. XD All of these stories sound absolutely 100% like something I’d read, but I must say that Sherlock Holmes meets Mary Poppins PROOOOOBABLy has to be my favorite. Probably. XD But Peter Pan meets Greek Mythology??? YES PLEASE!!!!! Gimme!!

    Also, I’ve never seen Merlin (I’ve heard OF it, though!) but…WHAT IN THE WORLD IS GOING ON WITH THE GUY ON THE RIGHT??? Like, the caption is saying “Are you sure?”, which is obviously what the guy front and center is saying, but like…that other guy is either saying something, or making a SEVERELY weird face, and I’m just very confuzzled and laughing way too hard right now. XD *is dead*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I DON’T KNOW BUT IT’S TOTALLY OKAY. I’ve kinda been failing at keeping up to date on blogs, so… BUT I ALWAYS LOVE YOUR COMMENTS! πŸ˜€

      Aww, THANK YOU! Oh my gosh, that just makes me SO HAPPY. Yeah, Sherlock and Poppins, that one’s been so fun and hilarious to work on! XD ISN’T IT SUCH A COOL COMBO?! XD I love that idea so much!! <333

      You should watch it, it's so good!! πŸ˜€ OH MY GOSH I DIDN'T EVEN NOTICE. XD Oh my word, he is making a weird face!! I wonder what he's saying?? Or if he's even saying anything?? XD *dies laughing*

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Awww!!!! You are literally the sweetest!!

        Eep, I bet!!! I’m actually a little jealous I can’t read it, to be honest. XD (plus, the name Pickpocket is like, the most amazing name ever.) YES!!!! IT TOTALLY IS!!!!! I can’t wait to hear more about it!!

        I might! I think I saw it on Netflix, so I might just have to take a peek at it when I’m “rewarding” myself for writing. Eheh… Hahahahahaha, I KNOW!!!! And he’s like looking really creepily at the guy talking!!! It’s just so weird!!!!! XD

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh my goodness, how did I miss this post?!?!? I love this idea so much! I shall be stealing it shortly.

    Your books all sound SUPER intriguing. Particularly Imprint and Sciamachy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you like it!!! Yes, please do steal it!! I would love to see your answers!! πŸ˜€

      Aww, THANK YOU! ^_^ Yes, Imprint is my very first brainchild and Sciamachy is one I’m really excited to get started on! πŸ˜€

      Like

I love hearing from you! ^_^