Pitiful Prose // My Name?

pitiful-prose

Welcome to this month’s installment of Pitiful Prose! I wrote this little bit one day when I was bored and didn’t have any inspiration. It doesn’t really make sense, and isn’t really that thought out. I thought it was pretty funny. I hope you do too! XD

“Why can’t I tell my name?” I ask the strange man.

I had just come from the grocery store and was walking down town. I’m Ava. I live with my adoptive parents and have an OK life.

“No time to explain, just, you can’t tell anyone your name,” he says, then walks away.

That was weird, I though, Oh well, just go home. So I do.

When I get home I hand the grocerys to Martha, the cook and then I run for the stairs.

But my stepmother stops me before I get there. “honey, I’d like you to meet a friend of mine.”

Ok, I thought, I’ll introduce my self, and then go up stairs.

Stepmother leads me to the parlor and introduces me to Mr. Swell. He is tall and broad and doesn’t look friendly.

“Hello, my name is….”

I try to say my name but the words wouldn’t come out.

“My name is….”

again, why can’t I talk?

“go on Sugar tell Mr. Swell your name.”

“But I can’t mother.” I say. (I call her mother to her face.)

“Whatever are you talking about, honey?” she asks giggling nervously.

“I can’t. the words won’t come out.” I say surprised.

“nonsense, you are being stubborn. go to your room.” She orders.

I do as I’m told. Then I think. It hits me. Hard.

That guy was right!

I can’t say my name!

Yep, that did actually happen. It’s not surprising that I dropped this idea. I had no idea where I was going with it. XD Let me know what you think down below! ❤

until-next-time-1

13 thoughts on “Pitiful Prose // My Name?

      1. “I call her mother to her face.” What does that even mean? XDDDDDD

        And yes, it sure is great to have improved. I feel like I’ve gotten so much better in the time I’ve spent writing and it is a wonderful thing.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I think it’s so great that you have the confidence to share this kind of thing!! It’s very entertaining and also encouraging. I have lots of writing very similar to this sitting around my house…mostly featuring orphans. I don’t know what it was with me and orphans when I was younger, honestly. Too much A Little Princess maybe? XD

    Liked by 1 person

I love hearing from you! ^_^

