The Prettiest Dresses of Fantasy

The Prettiest Dresses of Fantasy

Hello all! Today’s post, I’m going to be sharing some of my favorite fantasy book covers!

There is so much you can do with the cover of a fantasy book. Though perhaps not my most favorite route, lots of designers use girls in pretty dresses to attract people’s eye.

When I was younger, I always thought it’d be fun to wear a big fancy dress and go to a ball and meet a prince. (Prince Eric, from The Little Mermaid, in particular, in case you were wondering. 🙂 ) Not much has changed, (though, I maybe wouldn’t be too excited about going to a ball…), and princess dresses will continue to make me happy.

So in honor of pretty dresses, I thought I’d share with you some of my favorite dresses on fantasy covers. ❤

29410991

This book was so fabulous, so it only makes sense that the cover would be gorgeous! I love the autumnal colors and falling leaves. Autumn is my favorite season. ❤ The dress is simple, yet pretty. I love the lacework at the hem, and the loose, flowing fit. It rather looks like a wedding dress! Though, I wouldn’t go barefoot at my wedding, especially if it was in autumn…

18047809

I haven’t read this book yet, but I know it’s about Lady Daylily (who always annoyed me…so we’ll see how I like it…) But I have to give her props for her gorgeous dress. It kind of looks like it’s colored in an ombre style, and it looks really cool with the sleeves and train blowing in the breeze.

22840398

This dress transports me to a steampunk age, with ruffles and hair in buns. I wouldn’t have minded if there’d been some cogs or clockwork designs somewhere on the bodice or hem. I’M ALL OVER STEAMPUNK STYLE. I think in a previous post, I shared a picture of this book with my pair of goggles wrapped around the pages. Can we modernize steampunk clothes? Please?

1128164

The edition of this book that I read looked like this, but Goodreads shows me the paperback version, which I don’t like as much as this one. I love the patterned and loose sleeves. Though, that corset looks a bit uncomfortable. But all for the sake of style, right? Though, knowing our main character, it won’t look that nice for long… XD

94159611345545917269362

These books were recommended to me by Goodreads a looong time ago and I’ve still never read them, BUT LOOK AT THOSE COVERS. What more can I say? They just look so COOL. I believe these are historical fiction type books, and the first one is about the Titanic. THEY LOOK GOOD, both cover-wise and synopsis-wise.

12180248

Another book/series I haven’t read yet. From what I’ve heard of it, it looks REALLY good. Plus, how could you go wrong with a cover dress like that? I’ve always been a fan of the black and white combination, so I LOVE this dress. Plus bows = cute.

23403390

Deborah has mildly flailed over this book over at her blog and I thought it looked SUPER AWESOME, so now it’s on the TBR-pile. I love the warrior-princess type look going on here, with the hefty crown and the shield. I’m all about simplicity, and this dress looks both practical and pretty.

Well, those are my favorite dresses on fantasy covers. What are some of your favorites? What about other books, not just fantasy? Let me know down below!

until-next-time-1

 

7 thoughts on “The Prettiest Dresses of Fantasy

  1. I really liked Enchanted. It was a little bit… weird, but still cool. And Illusinarium is by the author of Entwined, right? That was a decent story 🙂 Enchanted and Entwined are very similar in feel.

    I can’t wait to read Shadow Hand… I don’t like Lady Daylily either, but I’ve heard all good things about that book, so we’ll have to wait and see 🙂

    And you’ve read the Ordinary Princess? 😮 That was one of my favorites! I loved it SOOOOO MUCH when I was younger. Five Enchanted Roses looks really good too, I’ll read it as soon as I can buy it (the trouble with having a TBR that mostly consists of Indie-published paperbacks with gorgeous covers XD)

    thefloridsword.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh, I’ve been wanting to read it for a while now, but you know how it is… XD Okay, I’ll keep that in mind! I really liked Entwined, so maybe that’s a good things?

      I can’t wait either! Yeah, Daylily…I don’t know, she just gets under my skin…Hopefully the book changes my opinion of her.

      Yes! It’s such a cute little read! I read it when I was younger too. 🙂 Yes, I think you would love it! (Haha, too true. XD )

      Like

  2. What a fun post!

    Daylily annoyed me SO MUCH… until I read Shadow Hand… which is still my favorite of the Goldstone Wood novels.

    My favorite fantasy dress has always been Buttercup’s blue dress in The Princess Bride.

    And I always liked Cimorene’s dress on the original cover of Dealing with Dragons: http://comparativecoverart.tumblr.com/post/111891948103/dealing-with-dragons-patricia-c-wrede

    I can’t think of any to add to your list right now… though I’m sure there are some others.

    The Ordinary Princess is one of my favorite books ever!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I REALLY need to read Shadow Hand. I hope it makes me like Daylily more. XD

      Ooh, I love that dress! Simple, and yet still pretty. 🙂

      Her dress is so cool! I love red dresses, and the gold trim at the bottom really adds to it.

      It’s such a cute, fun read! I should really reread it…

      Like

  3. Gorgeous dresses, I wish I had one of those! The Illusionarium red dress would be fun to try on. Some of my favorite dresses are Arwen’s and the Lady Lothlorien’s. ^_^
    Btw, I nominated you for the Starlight Blogger Award. 🙂 Don’t feel pressured or anything, I just wanted to let you know.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wouldn’t it be great to have a closet full of them? 😀 Yeah, I really like that one, nice and simply pretty. Lord of the Rings dresses are SO beautiful!! Especially the elves’. ^_^
      Ooh, thank you! I’ll go and check that out, definitely! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

I love hearing from you! ^_^

