The Writer’s Life Tag

Hey guys! I saw this tag going around a bit ago and thought it looked like so much fun! I don’t remember if I was tagged by anyone…oops. But, if I was, I thank the blogger who did! XD Now, onto the questions…

Write-Fuel: What do you eat/drink while writing?

Um, I don’t usually eat while writing. I wouldn’t get crumbs all over my precious laptop!

But I do like a drink while I write. I’ve been known to have cold tea, hot chocolate, bottled water, and lemonade whilst diddling away at the keys. 🙂

Write-Sounds: What do you listen to while writing?

I LOVE listening to music while I write. I listen to a lot of Pandora, (since YouTube is super distracting to me. XD ), but I have lots of playlists featuring Lindsey Stirling, David Garrett, ThePianoGuys, Alan Walker, and lots of intstrumental covers.

Write-Vice: What’s your most debilitating distraction?

THE INTERNET. YouTube, in particular. Once I enter into there, if I’m not careful and head safely to my playlists, it tends to have a blackhole effect. I may never return. XD Other sites known to keep me from writing are Pinterest, Goodreads, and WordPress. (That’s right. Sometimes, (okay, most times), I’d rather be blogging about writing, than actually writing…)

Write-Horror: What’s the worst thing that’s ever happened to you while writing?

One time, I thought my laptop would never turn back on. And this was before I had a thumbdrive, so it was even more panic-inducing. It just wouldn’t turn back on, even though I had thought the battery was full. Luckily, I managed to turn it back on and everything was still there. Thankfully, I haven’t had too many traumatic writing experiences.

Yet.

Write-Joy: What’s the best thing that’s ever happened to you while writing, or how do you celebrate small victories?

Well, to answer the first question, I would have to say when I finished my very first draft. It was SO exciting! (Looking at it afterwards, I felt like cringing, but we won’t dwell on that. XD ) Also, whenever something that’s really been frustrating me, such as a character or a plot point, magically works itself out. That’s always wonderful. 🙂

I celebrate small victories by taking a break. Whatever I feel like doing, watching videos, stepping away from the computer and reading a book. But sometimes when I’m on a roll, I don’t want to stop. (Even though I maybe should…) I just keep writing and writing, words flying onto the paper. That’s an award in and of itself. ❤

Write-Crew: Who do you communicate with or not communicate with while writing?

I have a desk up in my room, so I don’t usually talk to anybody when I write. (Well, except myself.) I do like talking to people about it when I’m away from the desk. My family doesn’t usually understand what I’m talking about and why I’m so excited though. (Understandable, since I usually don’t exactly know what I’m talking about either. XD )

Write-Secret: What’s your writing secret to success or hidden flaw?

Once I figure out what the secret is, I’ll let you know. 😉

As for hidden flaw…well, I don’t know how hidden they are. XD But I do struggle a lot with imagery and description. I love the characters and dialogue and plot SO MUCH I usually tend to overlook the setting and such. Which is…not good, since that’s kind of an integral part of the story…But I’m working on it!

Also, procrastination is a thing.

Write-Spiration: What always makes you productive?

Hmm…Hearing a really interesting song, or reading a really good book, or watching a really good movie, or having a really interesting dream. It’s not a sure-fire thing, but that usually makes me motivated to write, which, in turn, makes me more productive. 🙂

Write-Peeve: What’s one thing writers do (or you do) that’s annoying?

Clichés like insta-love and ‘the chosen one’ tropes are SUPER annoying to me. Also, grandiose, unnecessary description is super frustrating too.

Write-Words: Share one sentence from a project, past or present.

Ooh, let’s see…

“Celthic?” Paige said, “Remember when I said that you were going to help me? Well…I don’t really have a plan…”

She saw his shoulders stiffen. “You brought me all this way…”

“…Well, technically you brought me…”

“…And you don’t have a plan?” He stopped walking and whirled around. “Are you insane?” he fumed.

“Fine, here’s my plan. We head to the Fortress, break in, rescue Markus, then escape. You can add embellishments where you see fit.”

“You’re infuriating.”

“You’re ridiculous.”

Celthic balled his hands into fists, his breathing shaky. “Why am I arguing with a child?”

“I’m fifteen!”

“I’m an adult!”

“Well good for you!”

From Imprint

That’s the tag! It was a lot of fun answering these questions! Do you listen to music while you write? What’s your writing pet peeve? Let me know down below!

until-next-time-1

5 thoughts on “The Writer’s Life Tag

    1. I may never come back if I get to deep in. XD YES. I really wish there were more books with friendships. Not there’s anything wrong with romantic relationships, but c’mon, friendship is important too!!

      Like

I love hearing from you! ^_^

