Five Magic Spindles // A Review

Books and Such (1)

Hello all! I just finished this fabulous collection of stories, so I thought I share my review! All spoilers are in white text. 🙂

29410991

INITIAL RESPONSE
Okay, now what am I supposed to do with my self?

THE MAN ON THE BUCKSKIN HORSE
Initial Response
Emma is absolutely hilarious!

Emma, a good-hearted midwife, rushes to warn a neighbor about the hired gunman headed to his ranch but can’t prevent the catastrophe in store for his daughter.

High Lights
– I really love the setting in this story. The old west is always a fun place to write about.
– Emma is actually my favorite in the whole world. Really. (Although, I was kinda picturing her older than she actually was…?) Her internal monologue is yes.
– Rosalind is the perfect choice for a sleeping beauty. She’s so gentle and quiet and I really loved her in that role.
– Palmer. Enough said. Surgeon/Gunman that is also incredibly sweet and gentle. What’s not to love?
– Victor is actually pretty awesome too. He will stop at nothing to ensure that Rosalind is safe. I love strong familial relationships.
– …VICTOR AND EMMA. Totally adorable couple!!

Low Lights
– Mrs. Mortimer is basically the bane of my existence. She is so preposterously horrible, I just can’t. (Which, I realize is what the author was going for, but still.)
– Yeah. That’s all I got.

Conclusion
This may be one of the shorter stories in the book, but it is ADORABLE and AWESOME. Palmer is the nicest person on the planet and I could relate to Emma in scary amounts. This is a great kick-off for the anthology!

❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ out of ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

GUARDIAN OF OUR BEAUTY
Initial Response
CAN I GIVE NERIYA A HUG OR SOMETHING. PLEASE AND THANK YOU.

Palli, the prophesied daughter of a king, is fated to rescue her people from the destruction called forth by a vengeful priest.

High Lights
– This is such a creative idea!! That Palli can still see what’s happening around her and even interact with people even though she sleeps. YES.
– Palli is such a brave main character. I love how actually nice she is. I mean… she helps some freaky golden-eyed woman get some food. I would be running the other way if I were her.
– NERIYA. He is literally the bravest man that there ever was in the history of ever. Seriously. Giants? No problem. Snakes? Scorpions? Nope, this guy just keeps going. Insane evil sorcerer? COUNT ME IN.
– The world-building is amazing! It’s not an easy thing to incorporate into a short story, but the author does it so amazingly well. I really got a feel for where I was and felt entirely immersed in the story.
– Perakha is goals as a mother. Just saying.

Low Lights
– Ashui annoyed me to no end. I found myself glaring at the page whenever she was around. (Again, that was the point, but still.)
– Shokorru was SO. FRUSTRATING. *shakes head* I couldn’t stand him.
– Likewise with Etlu-kashid.

Conclusion
I LOOOOVED this story!! The setting was wonderful, the characters delightful (for the most part 😉 ), and it was an all-around fabulous read. BRAVO!

❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ out of ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

THE GHOST OF BRIARDALE
Initial Response
*hugs story forever and an eternity*

Roselee, a ghost with a faulty memory, flits through the halls of an insane asylum in search of the mortal boy who can help her save the day.

High Lights
– WHERE TO BEGIN.
– FRANZ. He’s an adorkable little honey roll that is actually really smart and knows things and is a logical bean. He’s wonderful, in short.
– Roselee is a poor little ghoul that is in dire need of a hug and some hot chocolate. I sympathize with her A LOT.
– CRETE AND EIDOR ARE THE BEST THINGS OF ALL THE THINGS OKAY.
– Paisley is actually really sweet and I feel kinda bad for him, poor thing. …I personally think he’s too good for Maralyn. Like, really.
– The magic system was really well thought out and it made SENSE. I loved it.
– Kingdoms on pins are pretty awesome.
– Also, …THAT CLEVER BIT WHERE FRANZ SAVES SAID KINGDOM, making him a True Hero?! YES.
– I actually really liked the setting. What with it being an insane asylum, I thought I wouldn’t like it as much as I did. But LOVE IT I DID.
– The three fairies. So. Much. Yes.

Low Lights
– Lady Mara is the perfect personification of evil. Which naturally means that I hated her to the utmost ends of the earth. …I honestly wished the Slavering Swamp Beast had accidentally killed her or something. Am I a bad person?
– Um…yeah, I can’t think of anything.

Conclusion
POSSIBLY MY FAVORITE STORY OUT OF THIS COLLECTION. You really just need to read it to understand. It’s epic, to say the least.

❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ out of ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

SPINDLE CURSED
Initial Response
EDMOOOOOND.

*ahem* Yes. Edmond is delightful. Quite so.

Arabella, a living spirit trapped in her own comatose body, helplessly watches from the realm of dreams as her usurping cousin plots to destroy her once and for all.

High Lights
– Well, Edmond, duh.
– …
– What else is there to speak of?
– Oh, okay, well, I really like Martin too. He was great.
– Arabella is SO. BRAVE. If I were stuck in a tower for a hundred years, I would totally go insane. I mean, I already am insane, so that probably wouldn’t help matters.
– Lona is the perfect crazy fairy who kinda doesn’t make sense but is still so lovable and hilarious. She’s great.
– DRAGONNNNNNNN. I loves it.
– But seriously, back to Edmond, he’s awesome. He can fight like nobody’s business, (I LOVED all the fight scenes), and he’s the picture of chivalry.
– Can I have him? XD

Low Lights
– Lady Rhoswen is absolutely despicable.
– Nicol too. I dislike him so much. …I wish he’d stayed a frog.
– Nothing. A story with Edmond in it can’t have low lights.

Conclusion
Characters were fantastic, (I really like Edmond, in case you couldn’t tell), setting was super neat, and it was just such a fun little read!!

❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ out of ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

OUT OF THE TOMB
Initial Response
Tomb raiders! Sci-fi tech! Long asleep princes! YES!

Tanza, a tomb raider on a distant planet, struggles to make a living and doesn’t need a long-lost prince to complicate her difficult life.

High Lights
– AUREN, FIRST OF ALL. He’s so innocent and confused and I loved him so very muchly.
– Tanza is epic and doesn’t need any help whatsoever. (Haha, just kidding, she needs MAJOR help, but she’s still awesome.)
– I loved how the roles were switched, (it’s a sleeping prince, instead of a princess). I thought it a very fascinating twist.
– Auren’s…out-of-it-ness. XD …He wakes up like a hundred years in the future and has absolutely no idea about anything. I don’t know why this entertains me, but it does. Immensely. XD
– I really loved the concept of virtue names. It was a neat little world-building bit.
– Auren and Tanza need each other. Really badly. …And I’m SUPER glad they didn’t die. ‘Cause, you know, that would ruin the whole being together thing.

Low Lights
– Keffer made me super mad most of the time. …Especially when he SELLS AUREN to BERIMAC. *growls angrily* … Which brings me to…
– Berimac. I cannot even begin to express how annoyed I was with him. He’s nothing but a cowardly old buzzard that cares nothing for anyone but himself. Needless to say, I disliked him immensely.
– But yeah, other than that, I got nada.

Conclusion
Auren is my favorite, Tanza is an adorable little spitfire, and basically this story was a whole lot of YES. A perfect way to end this collection.

❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ out of ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

CONCLUSION
WHY DID YOU HAVE TO END?! I WANT MOOOOOORE. *cries* I really loved this collection so very much and I’m so glad I own it in paperback so I can hold it and be a happy little bookworm. I highly, HIGHLY, recommend this book. (I also recommend the other two collections by Rooglewood as well. They are AMAZING.)

❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ out of ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

That’s the review! I hope you enjoyed and tell me down below if you’ve read or are planning to read this AMAZING collection! ^_^

until-next-time-1

2 thoughts on “Five Magic Spindles // A Review

I love hearing from you! ^_^

