Life Lessons Learned From Fantasy Tag

February Fantasy Month Banner

Hello bloggers! Sorry for the slight hiatus; life matters got in the way, but I’m back with a tag! Jenelle very recently tagged me to do this, and since it’s February is Fantasy month, I thought it would be the perfect thing to do!

Here’s the rules:

1. Link back to my blog

2. Use the image above

3. Tell us 5-10 lessons you’ve learned from reading a fantasy book (or watching a fantasy movie) – lessons can come from multiple sources, as well, of course

4. Tag 2-4 other bloggers to keep the game going

Let’s begin!

~

 

The Tales of Goldstone Wood by Anne Elisabeth Stengl7069751

This is probably my favorite modern allegorical fiction to date. I love all of the subtle nods to the Gospel and how each character plays an important role in each book. Lionheart, especially, is one of my favorite characters, showing the picture of man and flesh. (Though, he does turn around in the end, but…spoilers… 😉 )

 

6741865The Real Life series by Nancy Rue

These are technically not fantasy, but they have one very special aspect that makes them more on the fantastical side. They’re also for real the only books that have ever made me want to cry. I love how relatable all of the people are, how even if you’re going through a rough time, there’s always hope. In this case, in the form of a living book. The Living Book. I love all of them so, so much, but my favorite will forever be the first one, which tells the story of a girl with ADHD. They are touching stories that I hope I’ll never forget.

 

The Neverending Story by Michael Ende27712

I read this for the first time a couple of years ago and I simply LOVED it. There are so many interesting places and moments, that I couldn’t possibly recount my favorite. But I do remember while I was reading, I was always waiting for the moment when Bastian would return home. And that filled me with a realization. That even though ‘going on adventures’, and ‘befriending dragons’ is lots of fun, home will forever be where you belong and where your heart will yearn to be.

 

607014Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

I read this when I was really young, and I remember thinking it was the best book I’d ever read. Now that I’m older, my thinking hasn’t changed by much. Ella’s such a fun, spunky, lovable character, and she really taught me that even if things seem tough right now, things will always turn out in the end. Even if that end is hard to see and ridden with evil-stepsisters and man-eating ogres. 😉

 

 

The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo76920

This was another childhood favorite, and I still love it to pieces. There are so many lessons buried deep in the story, but the one that caught me most was forgiveness. It’s so easy to fall into the ‘everyone else should be apologizing to me’ thinking, and totally disregard forgiveness. It makes you humble. And in God’s eyes, ‘the meek shall inherit the earth’. It’s not hard to see why this masterpiece won a Newbery Award.

 

24605019The Word Changers by Ashlee Willis

I love this book so much. I loved all the bookish themes and near allegories sprinkled throughout the entire book. The one that really jumped out at me is the allegory of the Author. As in, in order to let the Author regain control of the story, we must allow ourselves to be written into His grand story, that is the life He has for us. And that means letting Him guide us by His Spirit. And in my opinion, this book desperately needs a sequel. Please?

 

~

Whew, that’s the tag! And it was a lot of fun! As for tags, I tag…

Elise @ E.E. Rawls | Savannah @ Scattered Scribblings | Winter @ Winter’s Falling Fast | Bernie @ Bernie’s Musings and Doings |

Thanks again for the tag, Jenelle! And if you’re reading this and want to participate in the Fantasy Month fun, I encourage you to do this tag! Or if your in a writing mood, Jenelle has a short story contest on her blog with a link-up. I’m considering a story, and hopefully I’ll have it up sometime this month!

What about you? Have you learned any lessons from fantasy? If so, what are they? Let me know down below! ❤

 

11 thoughts on “Life Lessons Learned From Fantasy Tag

  1. Yay! You did the tag! I loved reading about the lessons you’ve learned from reading fantasy! One of the things that I often run into is readers who think fantasy isn’t applicable… and one of the reasons I love this tag is that it proves that just isn’t so! Thanks for participating in February is Fantasy month!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! And it was so much fun! I’m so glad you enjoyed! I’ve run into a few people who think that fantasy just isn’t needed or, as you said, applicable. This tag gives fantasy justice! And thank *you* for having a February is Fantasy month! I love being able to share my love of fantasy with other readers and writers. ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m doing this soon! Thanks for tagging me. 🙂 Great choices you listed here. Some I haven’t read yet. Is The Tales of Goldenstone Wood the first in the series? I keep hearing about it, I really should get around to reading it!
    I loved Despereaux the movie! Is it just as good as the book, or was it lacking?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh, can’t wait to read it! And you’re welcome! ^_^ Tales of Goldstone Wood are SUPER good! Heartless is the first book in the series. 🙂
      I saw the movie first and then read the book shortly after. I really enjoyed both of them in their own separate ways, but I think I liked the book a teensy bit more. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Loved reading this! 😀 An excellent post… Yay for Heartless, Ella Enchanted, and The Word Changers (I want a sequel too!!) and the lovely truths they hold! Hmm, I may need to try The Neverending Story… Anyways, sooo much fun! I just love seeing others who find so many good things in fantasy that other things can’t quite give — it’s lovely! ❤ Thank you for sharing! ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thank you!! ❤ Yes, The Word Changers needs a sequel! Ooh, yes, you should try The Neverending Story! It's a bit on the thicker side, but I really liked it. 🙂 Fantasy can teach you sooo many good things…It will forever be my favorite genre. ❤ Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

I love hearing from you! ^_^

