Beautiful Books // 2017 Writing Goals

bb-redone

Hello beautiful bloggers! Guess what? It’s Beautiful Books time! You can link up on Cait’s blog here.

These look like really good questions, so let’s get right into them!

  • What were your writing achievements last year?

My biggest achievements were participating in JuNo and NaNo this year. I’m fairly happy with what I have so far. 🙂 For JuNo, I wrote Rewrite, which came up at about 47,000 words. For NaNo, I wrote Erase, which I wrote about 45,000 words of. I also did a lot of editing on Imprint.

And of course, we can’t forget the 1,000,000+ plot bunnies that showed on my back doorstep this year. Wait, that’s not an achievement? Oh. Well, I can’t just turn them away. Even if they drain my sanity.

  • What’s on your writerly “to-do list” for 2017?

> Keep working on editing the whole Imprint trilogy.

> Plot and outline my new trilogy about superheroes, and possibly write the first book for JuNo (and maybe do NaNo too, if I’m feeling crazy XD ).

> Get better at writing imagery. This is something I struggle with a lot. I know how I want things to look and appear, but I just can’t get it meshed right into the writing. It’s either no imagery at all, or clumps of description that seem clunky and awkward to read. 😛

> Try to write every day! If I really want to be a ‘real’ writer (whatever that is), I should probably devote a bit more time and energy into it.

  • Tell us about your top-priority writing projects for this year!

I don’t always know exactly what I’ll be writing. Sometimes I’ll feel like editing Imprint, or writing more of it, or outlining something totally different. But I definitely think I’m going to start on The D trilogy this year. (It might need a better name…It’s a working title.)

As for what the trilogy is about…I myself don’t even really know yet. XD It’s about heroes and villains and what would happen if the lines between them where fuzzy and meshed and that sort of thing. It has virtually no plot, but I have lots of scenes playing through my head and scribbled down in my notebook. I might do a separate post later on when I actually know what I’m talking about.

FirstAndMonday cats i have no idea what im doing

  • How do you hope to improve as a writer? Where do you see yourself at the end of 2017?

I mostly see myself tucked away in a dark corner, feeding my millions of plot bunnies, and typing what they tell me to.

bunny rabbits bunny island
This is legit me.

 

JK, that would totally never happen…*nervous laughter*…Right?

In all honesty, I really just want to try and improve in all the ways I can. Possibly begin work to publish a book. Who can know what the future holds? 😉

  • Describe your general editing process.

I don’t really have a process. I really don’t. I write what I think looks good, I give it to my family, see what they think, then fix things based off of what they say. I think it’s a bit biased with my parents, but I’ve gotten help from my aunt and siblings a little too. I should probably have some sort of actual process. *shrugs*

  • On a scale of 1-10, how do you think this draft turned out?

If we’re talking about the two drafts I haven’t touched since I JuNo and NaNo, I’d say they’re pretty messy and basically…

.

I’m doing this a lot of the time. I have no idea how to go about finishing them (because yes, they are not finished yet. Erase in particular is barely half done. *cringe*). I need serious help.

  • What aspect of your draft needs the most work?

How ’bout…every single aspect of them? That they’re dangerous landmines of plot holes and rabbit trails?

  • What do you like the most about your draft?

I really love the characters most of all. There’s a lot of them, which I think makes for a challenge, but I love it. They’re all so fun to write and I love getting to know all of them better through writing. I’m actually having a fun time with world-building too. *le gasp* I know. It seems crazy, but it’s crazy fun! 😛

  • What are your plans for this novel once you finish editing? More edits? Finding beta readers? Querying? Self-publishing? Hiding it in a dark hole forever?

It would be really nice to find some beta readers once I’m ready. I’d also like to try querying…but everything needs a TON of editing still. So, not so sure when I’ll ever get to that…Hiding it a dark hole forever is sounding more and more tempting…

You ain’t seen me, right!

  • What’s your top piece of advice for those just finished writing a first draft?

I’m going with the answer I’ve seen given by most bloggers, just because I agree with it the most.

LET THE DRAFT REST.

Don’t try to edit it immediately after you write it. You’ll get frustrated, and it will most likely turn into a creative mess. It’s important to step away from your work. It gives you time to mull it over and be more prepared to revise and edit.

Do any of you guys have any writing goals this year? Maybe some interesting writing quirks? Let me know down in the comments below!

until-next-time-1

7 thoughts on “Beautiful Books // 2017 Writing Goals

  1. Fun to hear about your writing goals and ambitions for this year! Best wishes on all of them. When it comes to learning how to write imagery… I recommend studying poetry. Particularly the Romantic Era poets, such as William Blake, John Keats, Percy Bysshe Shelley, William Wordsworth, and George Gordon Byron. Lots of great examples of imagery in there. Their words not only paint pictures in your mind, but they are almost delicious to read aloud.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow. That plot bunny bit… And the gif… Just wow. That was too fantastic and perfect and beautiful! 🙂 And the Vcaptain America gif! Basically this whole post was writerly goodness personified.

    Like

I love hearing from you! ^_^

