A Breaking Novel Update // Beautiful Books 2016

Hey guys!

Just a short post today. I’m busily hammering away at my novel (and getting distracted, like, a lot…hence this blog post), and I thought I would give a bit of an update via Cait’s and Sky’s link-up for this month!

beautiful books

Overall, how is your mental state, and how is your novel going?

Well, I’d say my mental state is fine, but my family might say otherwise… XD No, but seriously, I’m feeling pretty confident. I’m doing much better than I did last year which is encouraging for me. The novel itself is going. That is all I can say. Good or bad? Who can know? Not me. XD

What’s your first sentence (or paragraph)?

It’ll probably go through many, many, many, edits, but here you are!

       “Ouch!”

Paige stumbled over a rock, and fell, cutting her hand on a sharp stone. A large cut surfaced, ink emerging from the slit. She groaned and got to her feet, leaning against her staff.

Maggie beside her in an instant. “What’s wrong? Are you okay?”

“Yeah, fine. I just cut myself on accident.” Paige rubbed her hands together and a soft blue light glowed in between them. When she pulled her hands apart, the cut was gone. She sighed.

They’d been wandering this forest for three days and hadn’t found any sign of civilization. Nothing but trees. Trees for miles and miles.

Who’s your current favourite character in your novel?

Currently, I’m exploring more into Saymeth’s character, and I’m finding he’s totally fun to write. He’s a real sweetie and he’s also awesome and doesn’t hesitate to help other people. 🙂

What do you love about your novel so far?

Just the fact that this is the last book in this series and it’s got all the characters I’ve created and they’re all interacting and such. I really love the dialogue between…everyone, pretty much. ❤

Have you made any hilarious typos or other mistakes?

*bursts out laughing, then cries instead* Pretty sure you don’t even want to see this mess of mine. Though more repeated words, sentences that are mixed up, and general all-round mistakes then typos.

What is your favourite to write: beginning, middle, or end — and why?

I’d say somewhere in between the middle and the end, because that’s the epitomical point in the story and everything pretty much rests in the balance. And then after that is the big climax/fight scene. So, that’ll be interesting…

What are your writing habits? Is there a specific snack you eat? Do you listen to music? What time of day do you write best? Feel free to show us a picture of your writing space!

I wouldn’t say I have very many writing habits. I don’t eat while I write (I get too distracted by my love of food and such, you know), but I do love listening to music while I write. I’ve also found this website, Noisli, that plays different sounds that are either productive or relaxing, or whatever combination you want, for when I’m tired of music. And I usually write most in the afternoon for 1-3 hours.

DSCN1471.JPG
Here’s my workspace!

 

How private are you about your novel while you’re writing? Do you need a cheer squad or do you work alone (like, ahem, Batman)?

I am okay with saying I write more like Batman. 🙂

"BECAUSE I'm BATMAN!!" hishe | Tumblr

I do tell my family a little about, like how I’m a 1,000 words behind, or if they ask how things are going, though.

What keeps you writing even when it’s hard?

The love for my characters and my story. ❤

What are your top 3 pieces of writing advice?

Um…I’m still trying to figure things out, so I don’t know if I’m apt for giving advice, but

1. Word sprints.

One word. They are FABULOUS. I’ve benefited so much from word sprints, because they give me that little bit of motivation I need to get started for the day. Because I probably wouldn’t otherwise, if I’m being honest. XD

2. Character development.

Even if you’re story is great, and your plot is awesome, if your characters are dull, your novel will be too. As I’m writing, I carefully try to through in a few hints of character growth throughout the draft so I can flesh them out later on when I’m revising. Which brings me to the last thing…

3. It won’t be perfect. So try to have fun.

First drafts are never good. Trust me. They’re usually horrid little mess of characters and plot and going-off-on-a-limb. (At lest mine are! If you can write fabulous first drafts, I applaud you heartily.) The what next months of January and February put out by NaNoWriMo give you that chance to work out the story later on so it’s the best that you can make it. 🙂

So there you go! My short and snappy update. (You don’t have to laugh at the lame pun, it’s okay.)

How are you guys doing? Are you flying through your story or feeling stuck in a bottomless writer’s block-filled pit? And if you’re not participating in NaNo…How’s life been on the outside?

until-next-time-1

6 thoughts on “A Breaking Novel Update // Beautiful Books 2016

  1. Sounds like it’s going pretty well for you over there! Glad to hear it. Your story sounds quite intriguing, I love that first snippet!

    Writing is going pretty well over here in non-Nano-land. I don’t get to write every day, but when I do, I am exceeding my targets, so that’s exciting. I’m still feeling a bit like this story isn’t as cohesive as I want it to be, and more just a bunch of little snippets here and there, but hopefully I can fix a lot of that in editing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I’ve definitely been making progress! 🙂 Cool, glad you liked the little snippet!
      That’s great that your exceeding your targets! That’s kinda how I feel about my novel actually. Like it’s just a bunch of different scenes thrown together. Not very cohesive. But nothing rewriting and editing can’t fix, for sure! 🙂

      Like

  2. Oh my lands. That sounds like an interesting book! And Paige… Ah, such a cute name. 🙂 I’m not doing NaNo this year, but I’m still spending a fair amount of time on writing related work, just not much writing itself.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you like it! Haha, yeah, I thought the name fit with the whole theme of the story. 🙂
      Ooh, sounds like fun! But maybe it isn’t… XD I guess it depends on what kind of work it is.
      Thanks for stopping by! ^_^

      Like

I love hearing from you! ^_^

