Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

Hello all you bloggers! Well, it appears that we’ve come to the mid-year marker already! How even?! But anyway, I was tagged by the lovely Miss Deborah over at The Page Dreamer, so thank you so much! I’m a little late to the party, but oh well. It’s still July, right?

I’ve read 25 books out of my 70 books goal, which I’m pretty okay with…My Goodreads challenge tells me I’m 13 books behind schedule, but I guess I can learn to live with that…

BEST BOOK YOU’VE READ SO FAR IN 2016

How can you ask of me such a question?! I’ve actually loved all the books I’ve read so far, so…I guess I will go with my top 5: Heartless by Anne Elisabeth Stengl, Illusionarium by Heather Dixon, Jackaby by William Ritter, Paper Crowns by Mirriam Neal, and The Prisoner of Cell 25 by Richard Paul Evans. ^_^

The Prisoner of Cell 25 by Richard Paul EvansPaper Crowns by Mirriam NealJackaby by William RitterIllusionarium by Heather DixonHeartless by Anne Elisabeth Stengl

BEST SEQUEL YOU’VE READ SO FAR IN 2016

The next three books after Heartless, but Moonblood in particular, because LIONHEART MY PRECIOUS. *flails*

Moonblood by Anne Elisabeth Stengl

NEW RELEASE YOU HAVEN’T READ YET BUT WANT TO

Blood Ties by Hazel B. West sounds fabulous, but also Passenger by Alexandra Bracken and Twinepathy by C.B. Cook.

Twinepathy (IDIA #1)Passenger (Passenger, #1)Blood Ties (Modern Tales of Na Fianna #1)

MOST ANTICIPATED RELEASE FOR THE SECOND-HALF OF THE YEAR

I’m going to have to go with Deborah and say Crooked Kingdoms. KAZ NEEDS INEJ WHY DOES NOBODY SEE THIS. I’m also super excited for Heartless by Marissa Meyer, which is a kind of Alice in Wonderland retelling so…yes, of course.

Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows, #2)Heartless

BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT

I would definitely have to say Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. It had a really cool premise. I mean, a book in files, text messages, and documents? Yes please! But, unfortunately, it wasn’t for me. There was a lot of swearing, which I didn’t like, and it was just flat out crazy. Which normally, I like, but…

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman

BIGGEST SURPRISE

I would say The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart. I went into it thinking it would be just another middle-grade book, but I was delightfully surprised. ^_^ I really want to read the next books now!

The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart

FAVORITE NEW AUTHOR

Ooh, I’m definitely going with Anne Elisabeth Stengl! Her writing style is so beautiful and easy to read and I can just slip into and not come out for a while. 🙂 The Tales of Goldstone Wood are a new favorite! ❤

Heartless by Anne Elisabeth StenglVeiled Rose by Anne Elisabeth StenglMoonblood by Anne Elisabeth StenglStarflower by Anne Elisabeth Stengl

NEWEST FICTIONAL CRUSH/SHIP

Tough one…I have a lot! I totally ship Abigail and Charlie from Jackaby. *squirms in delight* Also Hal and Ginny from Paper Crowns, and Lockwood and Anna (EVEN THOUGH IT’S SO SAD 😦 )

Jackaby by William RitterPaper Crowns by Mirriam NealIllusionarium by Heather Dixon

As for crushes…well, I think Azrael from Paper Crowns, Jackaby from…Jackaby, Jonathan and Lockwood from Illusionarium, and Lionheart from The Tales of Goldstone Wood are all fabulous. ❤ (Oh, and I just put a picture of Heartless down to signify TToGW series. I didn’t particularly like him in Heartless…)

Paper Crowns by Mirriam NealJackaby by William RitterIllusionarium by Heather DixonHeartless by Anne Elisabeth Stengl

NEWEST FAVORITE CHARACTER

SO HARD! I have sooooo many! But, since I don’t want this post to be a mile long list, I’ll settle on saying Jacin (even though we meet him in Cress) and Winter from The Lunar Chronicles. They’re so adorable!! ^_^

Winter by Marissa Meyer

BOOK THAT MADE YOU CRY

Hmm…I  don’t cry to easily when I’m reading, even in super intense parts. But…I did come close to crying during Moonblood. ;(

Moonblood by Anne Elisabeth Stengl

BOOK THAT MADE YOU HAPPY

ALL THE BOOKS! But to be more specific…Winter really did make me super happy. Especially the ending… 😀

 Winter by Marissa Meyer

FAVORITE BOOK TO FILM ADAPTION YOU SAW THIS YEAR

Gosh, I don’t know if I’ve seen any this year…*wracks brain* Yeah, I got nothing. But I really want to see The BFG, if that counts?

The BFG (2016) Poster

FAVORITE POST YOU HAVE DONE SO FAR THIS YEAR

Ooh, let’s see… Here are a few that I am pretty good with:

MOST BEAUTIFUL BOOK YOU’VE BOUGHT SO FAR THIS YEAR

Probably Passenger by Alexandra Bracken. I mean LOOK AT THE PRETTY COVER. I kind of just bought it to stare at the cover…*guilty face* But I had been eyeing it for a while, so it’s okay, right?

Passenger (Passenger, #1)

WHAT BOOKS DO YOU NEED TO READ BY THE END OF THIS YEAR

TOO MANY. That’s my answer. I’ll list some: The Word Changers by Ashlee Willis, Storm Siren by Mary Weber, King’s Warrior by Jenelle Schmidt, Twinepathy by C.B. Cook, The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan, Secrets of Valhalla by Jasmine Richards, The Body Electric by Beth Revis, Howl’s Moving Castle and Archer’s Goon by Dianna Wynne Jones, Entwined by Heather Dixon, Dream Treaders by Wayne Thomas Batson, and Five Magic Spindles by various authors. Wow, that’s more than some, plus this is only a small portion of my TBR pile, so…that’s scary… XD

Five Magic SpindlesDreamtreaders (Dreamtreaders, #1)Twinepathy (IDIA #1)EntwinedArcher's GoonHowl's Moving Castle (Howl's Moving Castle, #1)The Body ElectricSecrets of ValhallaThe Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #1)King's Warrior (The Minstrel's Song, #1)Storm Siren (Storm Siren, #1)The Word Changers

That’s the tag! I’m super bad at tagging people…So if you’re reading this and you want to do it, please feel free!

Thanks for reading! Until next time! ❤

6 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

  1. Aww, King’s Warrior is on your TBR list? *grins like an idiot*

    Lionheart is my FAVORITE!!!!!!! Eep! Especially in later books like Goddess Tithe and Shadow Hand… where I know he’s not a main character, but still… looking forward to reading more about him hopefully in future tales. Because where he’s left off with Rose Red at the end of Moonblood is NOT OKAY.

    Ahem.

    I apparently seriously need to read the Lunar Chronicles. And Illusionarium. And Paper Crowns. And all the books on my shelf that I haven’t read yet…. AH!

    I need a Fortress of Solitude… just so I can go get some serious reading done! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Of course! I simply must read it. ^_^

      LIONHEART!! *dances around* He’s so great!! And YES. End of Moonblood. NOT OKAY.

      Ooh, yes, I have a feeling you would enjoy the Lunar Chronicles. They’re one of my favorites! :)Illusionarium and Paper Crowns too! ❤

      I know how you feel…I really need to get some reading done as well… 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by! ❤

      Like

  2. This is such a cool tag! This gave me tons of book recommendations too. ^_^ I lovee the Mysterious Benedict Society!! They’re such good books. And I really want to pick up Illusionarium and Passenger.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. AAAAAHH THIS POOOOST!!! ❤ *huggles it* So I really really enjoyed reading it and seeing all your answers and all the books. 😀

    Paper Crowns, Jackaby, and Illusionarium are some of my favorites recently too! ❤
    Moonblood is next on my Goldstone Wood list… I NEED MORE LIONHEART YES. 😀

    Ooh, you'll love Twinepathy and Blood Ties! They're so gooood! ^_^

    CROOKED KINGDOM. *shrieking*

    The Mysterious Benedict Society surprised me too! I felt the same, expecting it to be kinda ordinary, but it was sooo neat! 😀

    I AGREE HEARTILY WITH ALL YOUR SHIPS.
    Also Azrael and Jackaby and Lockwood are like THE best. <3333

    *needs to read the Lunar Chronicles sometime*

    *shrieking because of Captain America: Civil War* Ahem. XD

    PASSENGER IS DEFINITELY A GORGEOUS COVER. O_O (I totally get books for their covers sometimes too. XD It's bad… :P)

    SO, LIKE, ALMOST EVERY BOOK ON THAT LIST I'VE EITHER READ AND LOVED OR AM DYING TO READ. *collapses* The Word Changers, Howl's Moving Castle, Archer's Goon, Entwined, and Twinepathy, are sooo enjoyable! And I really need to read Dreamtreaders, as well as having heard good things of Storm Siren… and I just started reading King's Warrior! 😀 SO MUCH GOOD BOOKS YAY!

    I wil not apologize for this long comment, I'm afraid. XD I just had so much to say because booooooks! 😀 Loved this post! ^_^ Happy reading to you! ❤ I hope the second half of your year will be faboulous! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YAY THANK YOU! *dances happily*

      Moonblood was SO GOOD. Lionheart is WONDERFUL. ❤ ❤

      I seriously NEED to read Twinepathy…I followed the little serial story she had on her blog, but that's all I've read so far… O__O

      *shrieks with you* KKKAAAZZZ!!!

      I know! MBS was a delightful little surprise. 🙂

      SHIP ALL THE PEOPLE. But seriously, yes, Azrael, Jackaby, and Lockwood = ❤ ❤ ❤

      Ooh, yes! You would LOVE the Lunar Chronicles! 🙂

      CAPTAIN AMERICA!!! BUUUCCKKYYY!!! *dies*

      SO PRETTY. *sighs with delight* (I'm super bad about that…But then I usually end up liking the book anyway, so it's good, right? XD )

      HURRAY FOR ALL THE BOOKS! *dies from weight of tbr pile* Ooh, I hope you like King's Warrior! 🙂

      Feel no need to apologize! *huggles super long comment* BOOOOKS! 😀 Thank you so much! I wish the same to you! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

I love hearing from you! ^_^

