Beautiful People: Writing Goals

I saw this over at Cait @ Paper Fury‘s blog and I really wanted to do it! Let’s get started, shall we?

What were your writing achievements last year?

Well, it definitely had its ups and downs, I’ll say… I completed Junowrimo (which is Nanowrimo in June, in case you couldn’t guess 😛 ) with great success! I wrote my first draft of Imprint and the months in between, I revised it a bit and thought about the second book. But when came time for Nanowrimo, I…didn’t do so hot. I’ve found that I have to have an outline in order to actually write, so…heh, you learn something new, right? XD

Tell us about your top priority writing project for this year?

I’m definitely going to focus on revising, editing, and just finding my writing voice this year. I want to finish my Imprint trilogy, but I also have a superhero trilogy brewing in the back of my mind. And I’m trying (and failing) to focus on the story at hand. 😛

List 5 areas you’d like to work the hardest to improve this year.

  • Style and Voice ~ I’m having a hard time finding what’s really me, if you know what I mean. While I’m reading over my work, it basically feels like a robot is telling the story (a very cool robot, mind you, but still).
  • Imagery ~ I’m not very good at giving a good picture of what’s happening…
THIS:
THIS.

 

  • Actually Writing ~ This is a big one. I always say I’m going to write, and I keep telling myself, yes, I’m going to write, I’m going to do it! But then…Internet shows up…
  • Characters ~ I love working with my characters, but sometimes I feel I don’t flesh them out enough in my writing. Like, I know everything about them, down to their favorite Starbucks order. But I guess I can’t really say for myself if I’m good or bad at this. I can’t really say that about anything but, it’s more of a personal goal.
  • Sentence Structure ~ Yeah, yeah, that sounds like stupid elementary stuff. Don’t you know how to form sentences? Well, yes, I do, but good sentences is what I’m going for here. This kind of goes with Style and Voice, but not as personal. I want my words, plot, dialogue, everything, to flow in a way that is nice to read on paper. Not choppy or too descriptive, is what I mean to say, I guess.

Are you participating in any writing challenges?

I’m definitely going to Junowrimo again, no question. I think it’s easier for me to do it then because it’s a lazy summer month and November is more…hectic. But even so, I might try Nano again…we’ll see. 😉

What’s your critique partner/beta reader situation like and do you have plans to expand this year?

Right now, I just have my Mom, and that suits me fine. Of course, once I feel more ready I might ask for beta readers…I don’t know if I want the world to see my writing yet. XD

Do you have plans to read any writer-related books this year? Or are there specific books you want to read for research?

I did get several writing-related books for Christmas this year! So, I’m going to go through them. I got a couple by K.M. Weiland, Structuring your Novel, and Outlining your Novel. I want to read Structuring you Novel for Imprint trilogy, because I think that’d help a lot with revising and such. Then if I decide to start up on my superhero trilogy, I’ll go through Outlining you Novel. Of course, I like to read through all the books first, before putting them into practice! 🙂


Pick one character you want to get to know better, and how are you going to achieve this?

Well…It’s actually more of a group of people I want to get to know better. In Rewrite, the second book, we get to see into the lives of various fairytale characters, such as the Pied Piper, the Genie from Aladdin, characters from Little Red Riding Hood, and more. I want to give each of them their own, distinct voice. I’ve found that giving each of your characters a MBTI personality helps a lot. It makes them all the more real and relatable, and it helps with knowing what they would do in a certain situation. I really like this website for taking the test and learning more about the types.

Do you plan to edit or query, and what’s your plan of attack?

Yes and yes. I want to edit and query. I might have my parents help me with editing first, then see if I can find someone to help professionally. As for querying, I plan on trying Bethany House first, (which I got an amazing, once in a lifetime chance at publishing for them! Which is a story all on its own…I’ll have to write a separate post about that!) But if that more than likely doesn’t work out, I have a few other places to try.

Toni Morrison once said, “If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.”  What are the books that you want to see more of, and what “holes” do you think need filling in the literary world?

  • Christian Fantasy ~ I think this is sadly lacking in the literary world, but at least I know there are others working on that problem with me. (wink, wink, 😉 )
  • Strong Female and Male Characters ~ Sure, we all see the ‘strong, independent female lead’ trend all throughout YA books. But what if the men and women were both strong? Maybe it’s just me, but I don’t see a lot of that in YA. *shrugs*
  • Superhero Novels ~ I am a huge fan of Marvel movies. Which naturally means I love superheroes, superpowers, etc. And I don’t see that a whole lot either. I mean, there’s paranormal, fantasy, and the like. But it’s rare when I come across a superhero novel, let alone a good one.

What do you hope to have achieved by the end of 2016?

Well, in the words of Deborah over at The Road of a Writer, I want to have achieved. No matter what it is. I want to look back on 2016 and say, wow, I actually did that. That’s awesome! 🙂

Thank you Cait and Sky for making this meme! I really enjoyed this month’s!

I hope you enjoyed and I’ll post again soon! 😉

 

 

I love hearing from you! ^_^

